Tomasz Gaj wins OK Dinghy Belgian Nationals 2019

The 2019 edition of the OK Dinghy Belgian Nationals has been won by Tomasz Gaj (POL 1). First time ever that two Polish OK Dinghy sailor joined the Belgian Nationals and first time ever that a Polish sailor is Belgian Champion !

OBK_OK_2019 Tomasz Gaj II

2nd place is taken by Stefan de Vries (NED 6), third place by Stephan Veldman (NED 682).

The first Belgian is Marc Vande Ghinste (BEL 1) at place 9 who is sailing a boat of 1972 (!). There were special prices for first lady, Johanna Andrew-Becker (BEL 29), the first woody, Rod Andrew (BEL 1), the sailor who travelled the furthest, Robert Swiecki (POL 40) and the youngest, Jan-Siebe de Vries (NED 672). All have received a Rooster sailing cap.

Here are the full results.

The two days of the Belgian Nationals have been undergoing very unpredictable wind conditions. The region was under the influence of an upcoming high pressure cyclone which resulted in very unstable atmospheric conditions and weak winds. Nevertheless the hospitality of the KLYC, the excellent race committee, the good food and drinks and the fantastic music by Rod (BEL 1) compensated more than ever !

For more pictures, click here.

We wish to thank the KLYC for organising this race and the supporting activities and our sponsors Optiteam and Jupiler.

See you next year !